Thoughts On A Favourite Novel… The Time Traveler’s Wife…

The Time Traveler’s Wife is a favourite novel and has been for years.  My copy is battered and underlined and water stained.  I don’t know why but this novel is one that I can consistently get lost in and love every moment.

The truth is that this is a melancholy, heartbreaking romance.  It explores love and loss and powerlessness.  For me the novel has always been about longing and attraction and perhaps our own inability to do what is right for ourselves in the face of love.

(Bleh, I’m such a hopeless romantic and yet I’m completely cynical so I make myself a bit sick.)

A piece of the publisher’s summary for those who haven’t read the novel…

Audrey Niffenegger’s innovative debut, The Time Traveler’s Wife, is the story of Clare, a beautiful art student, and Henry, an adventuresome librarian, who have known each other since Clare was six and Henry was thirty-six, and were married when Clare was twenty-three and Henry thirty-one. Impossible but true, because Henry finds himself periodically displaced in time, pulled to moments of emotional gravity from his life, past and future. His disappearances are spontaneous, his experiences unpredictable, alternately harrowing and amusing.

This novel has such a beautiful love story that hits all those elements that make a novel resound with me.  It has tragedy, passion, fate… Inevitability.

In short their story is what the romantic in me wants love to be and what the cynic in me doesn’t believe actually exists.

You see, I don’t want some tragic love story.  I don’t want constant angst, worry and unknown.  I want consistency, kindness, passion, hard work, and happiness.

We have Clare and Henry, Elizabeth and Mr Darcy, Claire and Jamie, Scarlet and Rhett.  I love them all, they are old friends who I’m certain I will curl up with again and again.

But I think that this meme sums it up best for me…

lily and marshall

 

I suspect that that epic love story is rattling around in my brain waiting for me to write it, not live it.  Characters, stories, and events have been bubbling up at random moments for years and I think it’s about time that I started to breathe some life into them.

For me though?

I want a love like Marshall and Lily.

Leave a Reply

