Savouring the Simple Things…

Okay, I admit it.  I’m addicted to Pinterest.  It’s an issue.  I wake up in the morning and pin for 10 minutes before getting out of bed.  The little scrolling boxes are mesmerizing and I can’t seem to stop watching them.  I consult Pinterest first whenever I have a household question, recipe need, or fashion disaster (what the hell do I wear my new boots with?!).

Mostly, though, I look at the quotes section on Pinterest.  It never fails to inspire me.  Maybe I’m just corny (okay, not maybe, I can admit that I am).  But those little scrolling boxes filled with thoughts and inspiration are kind of irresistible.  A couple of days ago this one in particular really struck a chord…

f4d0d7919c6eb450d6115eda10440c39

The reason that I pinned this was the “Swim in the rain” line.  Because my family, well, we swim in the rain.  Literally.  It’s fun.  But I haven’t been doing enough of it over the past few years.  I’ve grown up too much, get cold too easily, don’t want the bother of wet hair or running make-up (why the hell did I ever start wearing make-up?).  And yet I’ve always found swimming in the rain to be one of life’s greatest pleasures.  Honestly.  I’m a pretty simple gal.

I feel like I didn’t really ask for much out of my life and that it doesn’t take much to make me happy and satisfied.  A friend pointed out that that’s why I ended up where I did – because I wasn’t demanding what I deserved.

So I want more now and I want less:

  • I want to be happy.
  • I want to love and be loved (friends, family, lovers alike).
  • I want to be in the moment and always strive to take the time to swim in the rain, smell the roses, talk to the crows.
  • I want to see more of the world.
  • I want to remember I should be treated as I deserve.
  • I want to treat others as they deserve.

I’m a bit tired this evening so probably this one could be better written.  But I guess what I’m getting at is – remember to swim in the rain.  It’s the perfect season for it.  (Not literally – unless you’re somewhere tropical).

Watch the way the lights on the Christmas tree reflect around the room.  The way your kids light up when they find Elf-On-A-Shelf and his latest antics.  Smile at a stranger when you’re in a long Christmas line.  Have a rum and eggnog on a Tuesday.  Sing along with carols and get sticky building a gingerbread house.

These are the things that actually matter and they are the things that we so often let pass us by.

One thought on “Savouring the Simple Things…

Leave a Reply

