Thoughts on The Bachelor thus far… And Love in general…

I haven’t quite finished all The Bachelor for this week.  I mean, even for me, 5 hours of episodes is A LOT of reality TV.  I just got to Whitney and Chris’s hometown though and I wanted to write a little bit about what I’m thinking.

Warning: there will be spoilers.  

At the start of this episode Britt was eliminated.  She was my first-night choice to win but she lost her pull with me as I continued to watch the show.  She was too needy, too demanding, too confident.  I lost all respect when they revealed that she put on fresh make up to sleep in.  I mean… seriously?!

So the way that things ended with Britt didn’t surprise me at all.  They had a great chemistry that’s for sure but there didn’t seem to be that much else there.

I don’t think that you can go into a relationship the way that they did and expect it to last.  She expected that they were together from night one.  It was like she saw herself as his fiance or something from that point on and considered the other girls to be minor obstacles.  He reinforced this by constantly giving her roses before the others.  I think he was blinded by the make-up, beauty, and the making out.  Who can blame him?  But nothing between them was real.

(Okay – I am aware that many of you just rolled your eyes so hard it probably hurt because you don’t believe that any of the relationships on this show are real – but bear with me.)

Relationships don’t happen overnight.  They can develop quickly… but they can’t be assumed like Britt assumed.  (We women are famous for making assumptions.)  This show is designed for quickly developing relationships but even for this show, Britt moved too fast.

I got to the Chris and Whitney hometown this evening and I realized that it’s going to be her.  First of all… there really aren’t many other options at this point.  Second of all… it’s so easy between them.  I saw this the other day and it reminded me of their relationship…

109b3cace4c93162d81fd03077069d1b

It has seemed so easy for them.  Silly, fun, full of laughter.  Yes, they’ve had serious discussions and gotten to know one another.  But, overall, it’s looked like fun.  It’s made me smile.

It actually reminds me a lot of Sean and Catherine and how much fun they had together.

So this evening when Whitney pulled out the bottle of wine and told Chris that she loved him… I realized that it was going to be her.  It has to be.  I may or may not have teared up a little bit.  I confirm nothing.

Can I also mention that I kind of hate myself for being so into this show?

I’m not sure what’s wrong with me.

I really need to get a life?

Hopeless romantic out.

Leave a Reply

